The SenSys/BuildSys 2020 Joint PhD Forum (Doctoral Colloquium) provides an opportunity for doctoral students to explore and develop their research interests in an interdisciplinary workshop, under the guidance of a panel of distinguished researchers. The forum provides an excellent opportunity for Ph.D. students to present their dissertation research, including work in progress, to the wider embedded networked sensor systems community. This meeting offers an opportunity to share experiences with other Ph.D. students and meet with accomplished international researchers and obtain feedback from them. Accepted PhD Forum abstracts will be included into ACM SenSys/BuildSys Digital Library.

Best PhD Forum Presentation Award: All the presenters will be eligible to compete for the Best PhD Forum Presentation Award, provided that your abstract is accepted.

Free Registration: Conference registration is free this year. Please remember to register asap.

SenSys/BuildSys Joint PhD Forum Keynote

Academic Social: A Retrospective Reflection on Unintentional Networking
Dr. Chenren Xu (Peking University, China)

In academia, it is a common practice to work with what you have in a best effort manner. However, it will also potentially narrow down your vision that prevent you from exploring out-of-band opportunities. In this talk, I will share my research journey from my first Ph.D. project, and highlight several key moments that made retrospectively “superlinear” impacts in my career from the unintentional academic social perspective.

Dr. Chenren Xu ( is an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science and a member of CECA at Peking University where he directs Software-hardware Orchestrated ARchitecture (SOAR) Lab since 2015. He earned his Ph.D. from WINLAB, Rutgers University, was a postdoctoral fellow in Carnegie Mellon University and visiting scholars in AT&T Shannon Labs and Microsoft Research. His research interests span wireless, networking and system, with a current focus on backscatter communication for low power IoT connectivity, future mobile Internet for high mobility data networking, and collaborative edge intelligence system for mobile and IoT computing. He is currently an associate editor of PACM IMWUT, and actively serving as organizing and/or technical program committee in top venues such as SIGCOMM, MobiSys and SenSys. He is the recipient of Alibaba DAMO Academy Young Fellow, CCF-Intel Young Faculty and ACM SIGCOMM China Rising Star awards. He is a senior member of IEEE and ACM.

Program (November 16)

7:00-8:15am JST

Session 1
Panelists: Rasit Eskicioglu (University of Manitoba), Chris XiaoXuan Lu (University of Edinburgh), Tong Yu (Samsung Research America)

10:00-10:50am JST

Important Dates

  • Submission Deadline:

    September 25th (Friday), 2020, 12:00 pm (Noon) - Pacific Time

    October 4th (Sunday), 2020, 12:00 pm (Noon) - Pacific Time

  • Notification of Acceptance:

    October 10th (Saturday), 2020

  • Camera Ready Deadline:

    October 16th (Friday), 2020, 12:00 pm (Noon) - Pacific Time

  • Doctoral Consortium Day(s):

    November 16th (Monday), 2020, 7:00am-12:15pm, JST

Submission Detail

  • The paper should not exceed 2 pages.
  • Submission template format should follow ACM Master Article Template (with sigconf setting).
  • Submissions do not need to be anonymous and should have the PhD student as the sole author.
  • SenSys submission system:
  • BuildSys track submission system:


  • All publications will be peer reviewed together with their contribution to the topic of the Ph.D. forum.
  • The accepted papers will be published in the SenSys 2020 adjunct proceedings, which will be included in the ACM Digital Library.

Joint Organization

  • SenSys Organizer:
    • Sozo Inoue (Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan)
    • Shijia Pan (University of California Merced, USA)
  • BuildSys Organizer:
    • Susu Xu (Stony Brook University, USA)
  • Secretary:
    • Tahera Hossain (Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan)

Technical Program Committee/Panelist

  • Hua Huang (UC Merced)
  • Tong Yu (Samsung Research USA)
  • Wei Ma (Hongkong Polytechnic University)
  • Rasit Eskicioglu (University of Manitoba)
  • VP Nguyen (University of Texas at Arlington)
  • Chenren Xu (Peking University)
  • Chris XiaoXuan Lu (Edinburgh)
  • Xiaoxi Zhang (SunYat-sen University)
  • Mostafa Mirshekari (

Accepted Papers