Applications for Student Travel Support

Sponsored by
National Science Foundation
The 2005 ACM SIGMOBILE International Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems (SenSys 2005), will be held in San Diego, CA, from November 2-4, 2005.

Our goal is to assist around fifteen United States-based graduate students to attend this meeting. We anticipate that we will be able to reimburse up to $1000 to each award recipient, to cover travel, lodging, registration, and meals. All travel support is made possible by a travel grant from the US National Science Foundation.

Participation in conferences such as SenSys is an extremely important part of the graduate school experience, providing the opportunity to interact with more senior researchers and be exposed to leading edge work in the field. Our goal is to enable the participation of students who would otherwise be unable to attend SenSys 2005.


An application for a travel award will consist of the student's vita, a letter from the student, and a letter from the student's advisor.

The letter from the student should include:

A brief summary of research interests and accomplishments to date;
A description of areas reflected in the SenSys 2005 program that would impact the student's research; and
Why the conference attendance is important to the student.
In addition, the student's advisor should send a letter of recommendation to the committee, that includes:

Confirmation that the student is a Ph.D. candidate in good standing;
The suitability of the SenSys program material to the student's research area;
Ways this particular student would benefit from attendance at the conference; and
The strengths and potential contributions of the student.
Deadlines and Selection Committee

Applications for the travel award should be sent electronically to Dr. Andreas Savvides ( to be received by midnight of Monday, October 3rd, 2005. The recipients of the travel awards will be decided by a committee consisting of Dr. Andreas Savvides (Yale University), Dr. Xenophon Koutsoukos (Vanderbilt University), Dr. Hari Balakrishnan (MIT), and Dr. Jason Redi (BBN). The awards will be announced by Friday, Monday, October 10th, 2005. Recipients will be required to accept the award by Friday, October 13th, 2005, so that alternates can be notified in the event that a recipient declines