ACM SenSys 2006

The 4th ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems

Boulder, Colorado, USA
October 31 - November 3, 2006

Final Program | Demos and Posters

Wednesday, November 1
08:15-08:30 Opening announcements
08:30-10:00 Keynote
      David Carlson
Director, International Polar Year Program Office
10:00-10:30 Break
10:30-12:00 Operating Systems (Chair, Phil Levis)
      t-kernel: Providing Reliable OS Support to Wireless Sensor Networks
Lin Gu, John A. Stankovic (University of Virginia)
      Run-time Dynamic Linking for Reprogramming Wireless Sensor Networks
Adam Dunkels, Niclas Finne, Joakim Eriksson, Thiemo Voigt (Swedish Institute of Computer Science)
      Protothreads: Simplifying Event-Driven Programming of Memory-Constrained Embedded Systems
Adam Dunkels, Oliver Schmidt, Thiemo Voigt (Swedish Institute of Computer Science), Muneeb Ali (TU Delft)
12:00-13:30 Lunch
13:30-14:30 Sensing (Chair, Andreas Savvides)
      Capturing High-Frequency Phenomena Using a Bandwidth-Limited Sensor Network
Ben Greenstein, Christopher Mar, Alex Pesterev, Shahin Farshchi, Eddie Kohler, Jack Judy, Deborah Estrin (UCLA)
      Virtual High-resolution for Sensor Networks
Aman Kansal, William J. Kaiser, Gregory J. Pottie, Mani B. Srivastava (UCLA) and Gaurav Sukhatme (USC)
14:30-15:00 Break
15:00 -16:30 Routing and Dissemination
         (Chair, Shivakant Mishra)
      RBP: Robust Broadcast Propagation in Wireless Networks
Fred Stann (Amgen), John Heidemann, Rajesh Shroff, Muhammad Zaki Murtaza (USC/ISI)
      Interest Dissemination with Directional Antenna for Wireless Sensor Networks with Mobile Sinks
Yihong Wu, Xiaobo Chen, Lin Zhang, Zhisheng Niu (Tsinghua University)
      Lazy Cross-Link Removal for Geographic Routing
Young-Jin Kim, Ramesh Govindan (USC), Brad Karp (University Colledge London), Scott Shenker (UCB)
18:30-22:30 Conference banquet: Walnut Brewery
Thursday, November 2
09:00-10:00 Configuration (Chair Nirupama Bulusu)
      StarDust: A Flexible Architecture for Passive Localization in Wireless Sensor Networks
Radu Stoleru, Pascal Vicaire, Tian He, John A. Stankovic (University of Virginia)
      The Design and Implementation of a Self-Calibrating Distributed Acoustic Sensing Platform
Lewis Girod (MIT/CSAIL), Martin Lukac, Vlad Trifa, Deborah Estrin (UCLA)
10:00-10:30 Break
10:30-11:30 In-network Processing
         (Chair, Deepak Ganesan)
      Target Tracking with Binary Proximity Sensors: Fundamental Limits, Minimal Descriptions, and Algorithms
Nisheeth Shrivastava, Raghuraman Mudumbai, Upamanyu Madhow, Subhash Suri (UCSB)
      Data Compression Algorithms for Energy-Constrained Devices in Delay Tolerant Networks
Christopher M. Sadler, Margaret Martonosi (Princeton University)
11:30-13:00 Lunch
13:00-14:30 Radio Propagation and Transport
         (Chair, Sam Madden)
      Datalink Streaming in Wireless Sensor Networks
Raghu K. Ganti, Praveen Jayachandran, Haiyun Luo, and Tarek F. Abdelzaher (UIUC)
      ATPC: Adaptive Transmission Power Control for Wireless Sensor
Shan Lin (University of Virginia), Tian He (University of Minnesota), Jingbin Zhang, Gang Zhou, Lin Gu, John A. Stankovic (University of Virginia)
      Experimental Study of Concurrent Transmission in Wireless Sensor Networks
Dongjin Son, Bhaskar Krishnamachari (USC), John Heidemann (USC/ISI)
14:30-15:00 Break
15:00-16:30 Storage and Abstractions
         (Chair, Phil Gibbons)
      Abstractions for Safe Concurrent Programming in Networked Embedded Systems
William P. McCartney, Nigamanth Sridhar (Cleveland State University)
      Scalable Data Aggregation for Dynamic Events in Sensor Networks
Kai-Wei Fan, Sha Liu, Prasun Sinha (The Ohio State University)
      An Energy-Optimized Object Storage System for Memory-Constrained Sensor Devices
Gaurav Mathur, Peter Desnoyers, Deepak Ganesan, Prashant Shenoy (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
16:30-20:00 Demonstration and poster session
      List of accepted demonstrations and posters
20:00-21:00 TinyOS Alliance BoF
Friday, November 3
08:30-10:00 Architecture (Chair, Jan Beutel)
      CarTel: A Distributed Mobile Sensor Computing System
Bret Hull, Vladimir Bychkovsky, Yang Zhang, Kevin Chen, Michel Goraczko, Allen Miu, Eugene Shih, Hari Balakrishnan, Samuel Madden (MIT/CSAIL)
      MELETE: Supporting Concurrent Applications in Wireless Sensor Networks
Yang Yu, Loren Rittle (Motorola Labs), Jason LeBrun (UCD), Vartika Bhandari (UIUC)
      The Tenet Architecture for Tiered Sensor Networks
Omprakash Gnawali (USC), Ben Greenstein (UCLA), Ki-Young Jang (USC), August Joki (UCLA), Jeongyeup Paek, Marcos Vieira (USC), Deborah Estrin (UCLA), Ramesh Govindan (USC), Eddie Kohler (UCLA)
10:00-10:30 Break
10:30-12:00 Media Access Control
         (Chair, Philippe Bonnet)
      Funneling-MAC: A Localized, Sink-Oriented MAC for Boosting Fidelity in Sensor Networks
Gahng-Seop Ahn (Columbia University), Emiliano Miluzzo, Andrew T. Campbell (Dartmouth College), Se Gi Hong (Columbia University), Francesca Cuomo (University of Rome "La Sapienza")
      X-MAC: A Short Preamble MAC Protocol for Duty-Cycled Wireless Sensor Networks
Michael Buettner, Gary V. Yee, Eric Anderson, Richard Han (University of Colorado, Boulder)
      Ultra-Low Duty Cycle MAC with Scheduled Channel Polling
Wei Ye, Fabio Silva, John Heidemann (USC/ISI)
12:00-12:15 Best Talk Award and Closing
14:30-16:30 NCAR Tour (optional)
      The NCAR Earth Observing Lab (EOL) invites you to tour its facilities and interact with its scientists and engineers.